How is child support calculated in Texas?
Are you applying for child support on behalf of your child? Maybe you think you owe child support, and want some understanding of how the process works? Texas courts may order a reasonable amount of child support if it is in the best interests of the child. The Texas Family Code has a specific formula that sets how much child support may be awarded. If the debtor parent refuses to pay child support, a court or state agency can order that the parent’s wages be garnished. The IRS also may withhold tax refunds. The person’s drivers’ license or professional licenses may be suspended. The debtor parent may also be held in contempt of court and sent to prison or fined. For help with your child support issues, contact the Guest and Gray Law Firm family law team in Kaufman County. Our experienced team has helped many Kaufman County residents with child support cases. We will help you resolve your case so you can care for your family and move forward with your life.Calculation of Child Support
To calculate child support in Texas, you need to multiply the debtor parent’s net income by a percentage specified by law.
A calculation of net income begins with the parent's gross income. Gross income includes almost all income: salary, rental payments, sales commissions, overtime pay, tips, gifts, gambling proceeds, bonuses, interest, dividends, rental income, royalty income, disability income, and almost any other source of money. Gross income also includes the fair market value of goods or services received as payment by a parent.
Once the figure for yearly gross income is calculated, subtract the following yearly values:
- Social Security taxes
- mandatory retirement plan contributions
- federal income tax of a single person claiming one exemption
- total union dues
- health insurance premiums and other medical expenses for the child or children if they have been court ordered
Starting September 2013, the net income cap used to determine child support in Texas is $8,550. Even if the debtor parent’s monthly net income is over $8,550, the court will not take that amount into consideration when calculating child support.
After you determine net income, multiply it by a percentage from the Texas Family Code. The percentage varies depending on the number of children the parent is required to support, and also may be adjusted down slightly if the debtor parent owes child support to a child from a previous relationship or marriage.
For example, if average net monthly resources are $3000, then monthly Texas child support under the guidelines would be $1,200 for one child, which is found by multiplying $6,000 by 20%.Contact Us
Don’t hesitate to contact the Guest and Gray Law Firm team in Kaufman County for your child support case. We can help you with the important steps you need to take to care for your family. You can visit us at our conveniently located offices in Forney, Rockwall, or Kaufman, or give us a call for a free, confidential consultation.